Resources

updated July 17, 2018

Thanks to Amy Staples at Kidney Beans for providing many links. Our resources are grouped by Associations, Information, Living Donors/Financial Assistance, Products, and Support Groups.

 

Associations:

Alliance for Paired Donation:  paireddonation.org/

The American Association of Kidney Patients:  www.aakp.org

American Kidney Fund:  www.kidneyfund.org

The ESRD Kidney Networks:  www.esrdnetworks.org

Home Dialysis Alliance:  www.homedialysisalliance.org

Home Dialysis Central:  www.homedialysis.org

National Kidney Donor Registry:  www.kidneyregistry.org

The National Kidney Foundation:  www.kidney.org

Polycystic Kidney Disease Foundation:  www.pkdcure.org

The Sepsis Alliance:  www.sepsisalliance.org/sepsis

 

Information:

www.agingwithdignity.org

Dialysis Access (fistula) explained:  www.vascularweb.org/vascularhealth/Pages/dialysis-access.aspx

Dialysis Technician requirements by state:  www.dialysistechniciansalary.org

Great blog on HDCentral about “compliant”: www.homedialysis.org/news-and-research/blog/63-compliance-is-a-dirty-word

Great information about kidneys: www.health.govt.nz/system/files/documents/topic_sheets/kidneys-and-kidney-disease.pdf

 www.greendialysis.org   website by Dr John Agar

Kidney Community Emergency Response information:  www.kcercoalition.com/en/resources/patient-resources/

Medical Education Institute’s Life Options:  lifeoptions.org

The National Council for Aging Care’s Guide to Dialysis and Kidney Disease:  http://www.aging.com/guide-to-dialysis-and-kidney-disease/

Online resource: ihatedialysis.com

Online resource, Restless Legs (Willis-Ekbom Disease):  www.rls.org

www.practicalbioethics.org

 

Living Donor/Financial Assistance:

Help for finding a living donor:  www.lkdn.org/kidneykampaign

Help for finding a living donor:  lkds-tools-and-tips.webnode.com

Help for finding a living donor or becoming one:  kidneymitzvah.com

Living Donors Online Message Board:  livingdonorsonline.org/ldosmf

Living Kidney Donor Search:  www.livingkidneydonorsearch.com

Financial Assistance for Living Donors:  www.livingdonorassistance.org

Financial Fundraising Assistance:  www.helphopelive.org

Financial Assistance for Recipients:  www.transplants.org

Medication assistance: www.panfoundation.org

 

Products:

Donating medical supplies:  www.medwish.org

“Help, I Need Dialysis!” BOOK: lifeoptions.org/help_book

“Bravelets” supporting the National Kidney Foundation:  bravelets.com/

Customized Silicone Wristbands:  www.firstclasswristbands.com/customization

Dialysis Arm Bands — Protect your access:  dialysisarmbands.com

Dialysis CLOTHING, Ronwear:  www.ronwear.com

Emergency Medical Bracelets, silicone bands:  www.theidbandco.com/Medical-Bracelets

Emergency Medical Emblems:  www.medicalert.org/about/our-mission

Kidney Disease Awareness Bracelets:  www.facebook.com/suzikidneybracelets

Kidney Themed items for sale:  www.cafepress.com/ihatedialysis

NEW MACHINE USING TAP WATER:  outsetmedical.com/tablo

RSN Jewelry for a cause:  www.etsy.com/shop/EmbraceHopeJewelry

Smoothie recipe book for renal and heart health:  www.amazon.com/Smoothies-For-Kidneys-And-Heart

Tegaderm dressings for those with sensitive skin:  www.amazon.com/3M-Tegaderm-Transparent-Dressing-Label

 

Support Groups:

Renal Support Network:  www.rsnhope.org

Facebook Support Group, Women-only Renal Support:  www.facebook.com/groups/646627748740128

Facebook Support Group, I Hate Dialysis, Open:  www.facebook.com/groups/IHateDialysis

Facebook Support Group, Home DialysisCentral, Closed:  www.facebook.com/groups/HomeDialysisCentral

Facebook Support Group, Polycystic Kidney Disease Cysterhood, Closed:  www.facebook.com/groups/POLYCYSTICKIDNEYDISEASECYSTERHOOD

Facebook Support Group, Home Dialyzors United, Open:  www.facebook.com/groups/nxstageusers

Facebook Support Group, Closed:  www.facebook.com/groups/169168116606702

Facebook Support Group, Closed:  www.facebook.com/groups/2229039880